Scientific Program


Tuesday, Sept. 21

 


9.00 (CEST)
(2.00 CDT, 3 EDT, 8.00 BST, 15.00 CST, 16.00 KST/JST)

Opening and Introductory Remarks
Carsten Kettner

Session Chair: Ming-Daw Tsai

9.20
Synthetic Metabolism: From Evolution to Design, and Back to Evolution
James C. Liao

9.50
Enzymes from Non-model Organisms and their Gene Expression with "α-helix" and "Hydropathy Contradiction" Rules
Yasuhisha Asano

10.20
Kinetics of Enzymatic De-symmetrisation of Prochiral Substrates
Peter Hallling

10.50
Multi-scale Modelling of Host-microbe Co-metabolism
Ines Thiele

11.20
Discussion and Networking Session

12.20
Poster Flash Talk Session 1
Chaired by: Ming-Daw Tsai


13.00
Break


Session Chair: Joelle N. Pelletier

15.00 (CEST)
(8.00 CDT, 9.00 EDT, 14.00 BST, 21.00 CST, 22.00 KST/JST)

Structure-guided Insight into Function, Mechanism and Evolution of Enzymes in Bacterial Glycoconjugate Synthesis
Karen N. Allen

15.30
Multiplexing Small-molecule Metabolism
Thomas S. Leyh

16.00
Biosynthesis of the Capsular Polysaccharide from Campylobacter jejuni
Frank M. Raushel

16.30
De novo Enzyme Cascades for Organic Synthesis
Sabine Flitsch

17.00
Discussion and Networking Session

18.00
Close

 


Wednesday, Sept. 22


Session Chair: Roland Wohlgemuth

9.00 (CEST)
(2.00 CDT, 3 EDT, 8.00 BST, 15.00 CST, 16.00 KST/JST)

Opening

9.10
Watching a DNA Photolyse Undergoing Photoactivation and DNA Repair by Time-resolved Serial Femtosecond X-ray Crystallography

Ming-Daw Tsai

9.40
High-resolution CryoEM of Energy-converting Membrane Protein Complexes
Werner Kühlbrandt

10.10
How do we Find New Functional Proteins in Sequence Space?
Florian Hollfelder

10.40
Deploying Directed Evolution for Synthetic Biology: Case Studies in Material and Menthol Biosynthesis
Andrew Currin

11.10
Discussion and Networking Session

12.10
Poster Flash Talk Session 2
Chaired by: Roland Wohlgemuth


12.45
Break


Session Chair: Jürgen Pleiss

15.00 (CEST)
(8.00 CDT, 9.00 EDT, 14.00 BST, 21.00 CST, 22.00 KST/JST)

Development of Biocatalytic Reactions - an Engineering Approach
Zvjezdana Findrik Blazevic

15.30
From Raspberry Flavor to Anti-cancer Drugs: Teaching Nature's Catalysts New Tricks
Joelle N. Pelletier

16.00
Kinetic Modelling of Beta-lactam Synthesizing Enzymes
Andreas S. Bommarius

16.30
DNA-dynamics-driven Mutagenesis: How DNA Directs its own Copying Errors
Hashim Murthada Al-Hashimi

17.00
Time Travel to the Past and Future - Evolution of Energy Landscapes for Enzyme Catalysis
Dorothee Kern

17.30
Discussion and Networking Session

18.30
Close


Thursday, Sept. 23


Session Chair: Zvjezdana Findrik Blazevic

9.00 (CEST)
(2.00 CDT, 3 EDT, 8.00 BST, 15.00 CST, 16.00 KST/JST)

Opening

9.10
Oxidoreducatases for Isoflavonoid Bioconversion
Byung-Gee Kim

9.40
Photoenzymatic Decarboxylation Reactions - Scope and (Current) Limitations
Frank Hollmann

10.10
Reaction Engineering Challenges with Oxidases
John M. Woodley

10.40
Applications of Systems Biocatalysis for the Synthesis of Metabolites
Roland Wohlgemuth

11.10
Discussion and Networking Session


12.15
Break


Session Chair: Andreas Bommarius

15.00 (CEST)
(8.00 CDT, 9.00 EDT, 14.00 BST, 21.00 CST, 22.00 KST/JST)

The Imprecise Reproducibility of the Michaelis Constant Measurements in Enzyme Kinetics
Santiago Schnell

15.30
Integrating Knowledge on Enzymes and Analysis Tools
Maria-Jesus Martin

16.00
The EnzymeML Toolbox: F.A.I.R. Management and Modelling of Enzymatic Data
Jürgen Pleiss

16.30
Discussion and Networking Session

17.30
Conclusions and close

 

Posters

 

Poster Flash Talk Session 1

No.

Title

Presenter

PS1

EnzymeML - a Data Exchange Format for Biocatalysis and Enzymology

Jan Range

PS2

Data Integration and Kinetic Modelling by EnzymeML

Simone Lauterbach

PS3

Identification of Fidelty-governing Factors in Human Recombinases DMC1 and RAD51 from cryo-EM Structures

Shih-Chi Luo

PS4

Gear-shifting and Rerouting through Metabolic Networks

Hans V. Westerhoff

PS5

Production, Refolding and Characterization of a Novel Thermostable Sylanase from Indigenous Cohnella sp. A01

Ali Foroutan kalourazi

 

Poster Flash Talk Session 2

No.

Title

Presenter

PS6

Making Different Enzymes as Sustainable Biofunctional Hydrogel

Mengshu Hao

PS7

Structural Basis for Altered Substrate Binding Order that Promotes Mismatched Base Pairs Catalyzed by DNA Polymerases

Wen-Jin Wu

PS8

Optimisation of Mechanical Stability of Protein Complexes via Go-Martini Simulation

Adolfo Pomo

PS9

Redesigning Flavin-dependent Monoosygenases for Selective Production of Halogenated Indigoids in Escherichia coli

Jeongchan Lee