Harnessing Light Energy with Molecules

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2024

October 8 – 10, 2024
Dom Hotel, Limburg, Germany

Scientific Organizer:
Grace G. D. Han / Brandeis University, Waltham
Hermann A. Wegner / Justus-Liebig-University, Giessen

Stay tuned #BeilsteinHarnessingLight2024


han wegner version 2

Topics 2024

The ultimate source of energy on earth is sunlight, but storing solar energy in molecules and soft matter for subsequent use poses a significant challenge. This symposium aims to uncover and explore fundamental concepts that involve utilizing molecules to capture and store light energy. The focus is on any molecular-level interaction with light; relevant topics include the storage of photon energy and the release as heat in molecular solar thermal storage (MOST) systems, as well as transformation photon energy into different types such as chemical or electrical energy.

The symposium will cover, but is not limited to the following themes:

/ Understanding of interactions of light with molecules

/ Molecules involved in light-mediated transformations

/ Photoswitches for energy management

/ Devices utilizing molecules for light-triggered processes


Young Investigator Award

  Apply until April 30, 2024 and win:

  • a 30 min oral presentation at the symposium
  • accommodation at the conference hotel
  • full board at the conference hotel
  • free registration for the symposium

Click here for more information!



Ivan Aprahamian / Dartmouth College, USA

Sophie Beeren / Technical University of Denmark

Mogens Brøndsted Nielsen / University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Rachel Evans / University of Cambridge, UK

Grace G. D. Han / Brandeis University, USA

Sunkyu Han / KAIST, Republic of Korea


Helen Hölzel / Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain

Daichi Kitagawa / Osaka Metropolitan University, Japan

Doreen Mollenhauer / Justus-Liebig-University Giessen, Germany

Kasper Moth-Poulsen / Polytechnic University of Catalunya, Spain

Timothy Noël / University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Arri Priimagi / Tampere University, Finland


Bart Jan Ravoo / University of Muenster, Germany

Anne Staubitz / University of Bremen, Germany

Hermann A. Wegner / Justus-Liebig-University Giessen, Germany

Emma Wolpert / Imperial College London, UK

Si Wu / University of Science and Technology of China

Nobuhiro Yanai / Kyushu University, Japan

Download (45 KB)