From Molecular Mechanisms to High-Performance Systems

Beilstein Enzymology Symposium 2023

September 12 – 14, 2023

Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rudesheim, Germany


Scientific Committee:

Edda Klipp / Humboldt University, Berlin
Joelle Pelletier / Université de Montreal
Jürgen Pleiss / University of Stuttgart
Carsten Kettner / Beilstein-Institut

Follow us on X (formerly Twitter): #BeilsteinEnzymology2023

Topics 2023

/structure and functions revised (e.g., the past, the presence and future of enzymology, biocatalysis, synthetic and systems biology),

/insights into enzyme mechanisms (e.g., promiscuous enzymes, tunnelling, reactions under extreme conditions, non-obvious modifiers),

/directed evolution and cascades (e.g., engineered enzymes, disordered proteins, moonlighting roles),

/upstream and downstream of reaction cascades (e.g., regulation of pathways and multi-enzyme cascades),

/prediction of structures and functions (e.g., data driven modelling and mining, incl. AI, structure prediction based on genomics and meta-genomics),

/high-performance systems and interesting applications.


Confirmed Speakers


Karen N. Allen / Boston University, USA

Ee-Lui Ang / A-STAR, Singapore

Barbara Bakker / University Medical Center Groningen, The Netherlands

Andreas S. Bommarius / Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, USA

Adrian Bunzel / ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Pimchai Chaiyen / Vidyasirimedhi Institute of Science and Technology, Rayong, Thailand

Athel Cornish-Bowden / BIP-CNRS, Marseille, France

Mariluz Cardenas / BIP-CNRS, Marseille, France




Victor de Lorenzo / Centro Nacional de Biotecnologia, Madrid, Spain

Birte Höcker / University of Bayreuth, Germany

Dorothee Kern / Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, USA

Edda Klipp / Humboldt-University, Berlin, Germany

Tobias Köllner / MPI for Chemical Ecology, Jena, Germany

Thomas S. Leyh / Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, USA

Marina Lotti / University of Milan, Italy

Stanislav Mazurenko / Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic







Silvia Osuna / University of Girona, Spain

Joelle Pelletier / Université de Montréal, Canada

Jürgen Pleiss / University of Stuttgart

Frank M. Raushel / Texas A&M University, College Station, USA

Dörte Rother / Research Center Jülich, Germany

Sandy Schmidt / University of Groningen, The Netherlands

John Woodley / Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark



Conference Photo Enzymology 2023
Download (45 KB)
STRENDA Logo 150px