The next generation of nanomedicines: Formulation to precision therapies


Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2024

September 3–5, 2024
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany

Scientific Committee:
Hélder A. Santos / University of Groningen
Neus Feliu Torres / Fraunhofer IAP
Wolfgang Parak / University of Hamburg

Stay tuned #BeilsteinNanomedicine2024

helder neus wolfgang heads

Topics 2024

Nanomedicine is the medical application of nanotechnology achieved by combining nano- and biomaterials with the future perspective to address pathologies in a complex and heterogeneous scenario.

The challenge of nanomedicine depends on the use of nano- and biomaterials at the nanometer scale to manufacture scalable drug delivery systems and medical devices that are safe, biocompatible and non-toxic. The goal is to selectively target microenvironments and tissues through physiological and pathological mechanisms that modulate the micro- and macro environments of patients affected by rare and clinically relevant pathologies. The combination of nano- and biomaterials, the modification of interface properties, as well as the functionalization of the resulting drug delivery systems with macromolecules and active biomolecules, provides specific properties for tailoring precision medicine. This boosts the application for many diseases with suitable therapeutic options and benefits for the patients.

In this symposium, we will address the latest advances of nanomedicine for precise targeting therapies and unlock their potential for drug and gene delivery applications. The selected talks will provide valuable insights on the latest developments of translational research on nanomedicine for a personalized therapy and towards a reliable pre-clinical and clinical assessment.

The symposium will cover, but is not limited to the following themes:

/ Bionanomaterials synthesis and characterization

/ Nanomaterials for medicine

/ Nanotechnology in therapy

/ Nanotechnology in medical diagnostics

/ Pharmaceutical nanotechnology


Confirmed Speakers


Matthias Barz / Leiden University, Netherlands

Chunying Chen / National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, China

Wenguo Cui / Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine, China

Kenneth Dawson / University College Dublin, Ireland

Helena Florindo / University of Lisbon, Portugal

Ana Beloqui Garcia / Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium

Twan Lammers / RWTH Aachen University Clinic, Germany



João Mano / University of Aveiro, Portugal

Michael J. Mitchell / University of Pennsylvania, USA

André Nel / UCLA, USA (Online talk)

Wolfgang Parak / University of Hamburg, Germany

Dan Peer / Tel Aviv University, Israel

Beatriz Pelaz / University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Pablo del Pino / University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Jai Prakash / University of Twente, Netherlands



Avi Schroeder / Technion, Haifa, Israel

Stefaan de Smedt / Ghent University, Belgium

Hélder A. Santos / University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands

Tambet Teesalu / University of Tartu, Estonia

Neus Feliu Torres / Fraunhofer IAP-CAN, Germany

Maria J. Vicent / Centro de Investigación Príncipe Felipe, Valencia, Spain

Yan Yan / University College Dublin, Ireland