STRENDA has been constituted in 2004 under the auspices of the Beilstein-Institut and is supported by the foundation since then. The STRENDA Commission is formed by an international panel of highly-regarded scientists who bring in diverse expertises such as biochemistry, enzyme nomenclature, bioinformatics, systems biology, modelling, mechanistic enzymology and theoretical biology.

The members of the STRENDA Commission


  • Barbara M. Bakker, University Medical Center Groningen, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  • Athel Cornish-Bowden, CNRS-BIP, Marseille, France
  • Paul F. Fitzpatrick, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, TX, USA
  • Peter Halling, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland, UK
  • Thomas S. Leyh, The Albert-Einstein-College, Bronx, NY, USA
  • Andrew McDonald, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland
  • Jürgen Pleiss, University of Stuttgart, Germany
  • Frank M. Raushel, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
  • Johann M. Rohwer, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • Santiago Schnell, University of Notre Dame, IN, USA
  • Ming-Daw Tsai, Academia Sinica, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Hans V. Westerhoff, Universities of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Ulrike Wittig, Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies, Germany
  • Roland Wohlgemuth, Lodz University of Technology, Poland
  • Carsten Kettner (co-ordination), Beilstein-Institut, Frankfurt am Main, Germany



Past Members of the STRENDA Commission


The Beilstein-Institut and the current members of the Commission thank the past members for their valuable work and contributions to the project over many years.

  • Rolf Apweiler, EMBL Outstation, European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, UK
  • Richard N. Armstrong †, Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA
  • Antonio Baici, University of Zurich, Switzerland
  • Amos Bairoch, Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Jan-Hendrik Hofmeyr, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa
  • Meina Neumann-Schaal, Leibniz Institute DSMZ, Braunschweig, Germany
  • Claire O'Donovan, EMBL Outstation, European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, UK
  • Dietmar Schomburg, Technical University Braunschweig, Germany
  • Christoph Steinbeck, EMBL Outstation, European Bioinformatics Institute, Hinxton, UK
  • Neil Swainston, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Keith Tipton, Trinity College, Dublin, Irland