Scientific Program

 

Wednesday, 23 June

 

Welcome and opening

10.45 am (CEST), 4.45 am (EDT), 1.45 am (PDT), 5.45 pm (JST), 6.45 pm (AEST)

 

Session 1.1:
Chemical Biology Tools

11.00 am (CEST), 5.00 am (EDT), 2.00 am (PDT), 6.00 pm (JST), 7.00 pm (AEST)

Complex glycans as scaffolds for the preparation of potent C-type lectin inhibitors
Niels Reichardt

Chemical precision tools to study the glycoproteome
Ben Schumann

Glycan microarrays - much needed tools for understanding microbe-host interactions
Yan Liu

 

Poster session and
Networking session (meet the speakers)

12.15 am (CEST), 6.15 am (EDT), 3.15 am (PDT), 7.15 pm (JST), 8.15 pm (AEST)

 

Session 1.2:
Profiling Glycans

1.00 pm (CEST), 7.00 am (EDT), 4.00 am (PDT), 8.00 pm (JST), 9.00 pm (AEST)

Multi-omics of MLL-rearranged B-cell precursor acute lymphoblastic leukemia reveals broad glycoproteom remodeling
Daniel Kolarich

Measuring spike protein glycosylation similarity during viral evolution
Joseph Zaia

Glycomics and glycoproteomics analysis of complex biological systems
Stuart Haslam

Hyphenated IM-MS methods for carbohydrate sequencing
Sabine Flitsch

 

Glyspace

2.45 pm (CEST), 8.45 am (EDT), 5.45 am (PDT), 9.45 pm (JST), 10.45 pm (AEST)

Contributions of the GlyCosmos Portal towards the GlySpace Allliance and standardized glycoscience data
Kiyoko Aoki-Kinoshita

GlyGen - a knowledge base for glycomics and glycoproteomics
René Ranzinger

Glycomics@expasy: SIB's portal supporting glycoscience
Julien Mariethoz

 

Software demo

3.45 pm (CEST), 9.45 am (EDT), 6.45 am (PDT), 10.45 pm (JST),11.45 pm (AEST)

 

Networking session (meet the speakers)

4.45 pm (CEST), 10.45 am (EDT), 7.45 am (PDT), 11.45 pm (JST), 0.45 am (Thursday, AEST)

 

6.00 pm (CEST)

Close of the first day

 

Thursday, June 24

 

Software demo

10.00 am (CEST), 4.00 am (EDT), 1.00 am (PDT), 5.00 pm (JST), 6.00 pm (AEST)

 

Session 2.1:
Cell Walls and Cell Surfaces

11.00 am (CEST), 5.00 am (EDT), 2.00 am (PDT), 6.00 pm (JST), 7.00 pm (AEST)

Unveiling the puzzle of structure and function of glycans
Alba Silipo

Electron microscopy methods for structural characterization of crystalline charbohydrates and plant cell walls
Yu Ogawa

Synthetic carbohydrate-based materials
Martina Delbianco

 

Software demo and
Networking session (meet the speakers)

12.15 pm (CEST), 6.15 am (EDT), 3.15 am (PDT), 7.15 pm (JST), 8.15 pm (AEST)

 

Session 2.2:
Complexity of Glycomolecules

1.15 pm (CEST), 7.15 am (EDT), 4.15. am (PDT), 8.15 pm (JST), 9.15 pm (AEST)

Glycosylation in giant viruses
Cristina de Castro

N-glycosylation in archaea: so many ways to be sweet
Jerry Eichler

Targeting modified heptose synthesis to prevent Campylobacteriosis
Carole Creuzenet

 

Networking session (meet the speakers)

2.30 pm (CEST), 8.30 am (EDT), 5.30 am (PDT), 9.30 pm (JST), 10.30 pm (AEST)

 

Session 2.3:
New Tools for the Glycoworld

3.15 pm (CEST), 9.15 am (EDT), 6.15 am (PDT), 10.15 pm (JST), 11.15 pm (AEST)

SynGlycan reagents for longitudinal, non-destructive measurement of the glycome
Sriram Neelamegham

Insights into influenza virus infectoin by using NMR spectroscopy
María Ángeles Canales

The differing challenges of intact N- and O-glycopeptide data searching
Robert Chalkley

 

Poster session and
Networking session (meet the speakers)

4.30 pm (CEST), 10.30 am (EDT), 7.30 am (PDT), 11.30 pm (JST), 0.30 am (Friday, AEST)

 

5.30 pm (CEST)

Close of the second day

 

Friday, June 25

 

Session 3.1:
Glycans in Three Dimensions

11.00 am (CEST), 5.00 am (EDT), 2.00 am (PDT), 6.00 pm (JST), 7.00 pm (AEST)

Computational insights into modeling protein-glycosaminoglycan interactions
Sergey Samsonov

Integrative glycan model building and validation
Jon Agirre

Glycosylation as a means to modulate membrane receptor conformation and visibility
Ilpo Vattulainen

Functional role of the glycan shield in the activiation of the SARS-CoV-2 S protein
Elisa Fadda

 

Session 3.2:
Clinical and Biomedical World

12.45 pm (CEST), 6.45 am (EDT), 3.45 am (PDT), 7.45 pm (JST), 8.45 pm (AEST)

The effects of O-GlcNAcylation on mitochondrial function and the neurodegenerative process
Gavin Davey

From concept to first-in-Human phase I study and beyond for a monovalent Shigella synthetic glycan-based conjugate vaccine candidate
Laurence Mulard

 

Networking Session (meet the speakers)

1.30 pm (CEST), 7.30 am (EDT), 4.30 am (PDT), 8.30 pm (JST), 9.30 pm (AEST)

 

Session 3.3:
Synthetic Glycobiology

2.15 pm (CEST), 8.15 am (EDT), 5.15 am (PDT), 9.15 pm (JST), 10.15 pm (AEST)

Why are proteins O-GalNAc-glycosylated?
Hans Wandall

Achievement of stable protein sialylation in Physcomitrella
Eva Decker

O-Acetylation: adding the cherry on top of the sugar cake
Martina Mühlenhoff

Deciphering and engineering the genetic bases of glycosylation through systems biology
Nathan Lewis

 

Networking session (meet the speakers)

4.30 pm (CEST), 10.30 am (EDT), 7.30 am (PDT), 11.30 pm (JST), 0.30 am (Saturday, AEST)

 

5.00 pm (CEST)

Conclusions
The organizers