This symposium is cancelled!

Models of Convenience

Beilstein Bozen Symposium

16 — 18 June, 2020

Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald
Rüdesheim, Germany


Scientific Commitee:

Tim Clark / University of Nürnberg-Erlangen

Lee Cronin / University of Glasgow, UK

Martin G. Hicks, Carsten Kettner / Beilstein-Institut

This symposium is cancelled!


Due to health concerns related to the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19) disease, we have decided to cancel the Beilstein Bozen Symposium due to take place June 16-18, 2020 in Rüdesheim.


It is with deep regret that we took this decision, but out of concern for the health and well-being of all participants, staff and local community, and bearing in mind the international nature of the meeting with potential difficulty of travel, we saw no reasonable alternative.

Aspects covered by this conference

Biology and materials science are posing new challenges for chemistry; the sheer size of biological systems and composite materials poses new questions of complexity (as opposed to being complicated), visual and digital depictions of the structures and collection and collation of results. Our traditional models of chemical compounds, atoms and bonds, are often proving inadequate and need to be extended. Even more fundamental, however, is the recognition that models are models and their often-problematic relationship to “reality”.

Potential Sessions:

/ Complex and Complicated
/ What are Atoms, Bonds and Molecules?
/ Computer Representation of Molecules
/ Chemical Automations
/ Chemical and Biological Systems ouf of Equilibrium
/ Simulation of Large Molecular Systems
/ Synthetic Biology
/ Information Storage and Transfer in Biomolecules
/ Chemistry and the Fourth Paradigm (data-driven research)

Confirmed Speakers


Alyssa-Jennifer Avestro / University of York, UK

Peter Bond / A*STAR Bioinformatics Institute, Singapore

Richard Bourne / University of Leeds, UK

Oscar Ces / Imperial College London, UK

Tim Clark / Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany

Herma M. Cuppen / Radboud University Nijmwegen, The Netherlands

Sonia Antoranz Contera / University of Oxford, UK



Lee Cronin / University of Glasgow, UK

Jean-Loup Faulon / INRA, Jouy-en-Josas, France

Michael Feig / Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI, USA

Anne Fischer / DARPA, Arlington, VA, USA

David R. Glowacki / University of Bristol, UK

Bartosz A. Grzybowski / Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea

Robin Hendry / Durham University, UK






Michael Kathan / University of Groningen, The Netherlands

Nathalie Katsonis / University of Twente, The Netherlands

Anatole von Lilienfeld / University of Basel, Switzerland

Christoph Rademacher / MPI of Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam

Susan Stepney  / University of York, UK

Sara Walker / Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA

Karoline Wiesner / University of Bristol, UK