Sensing with mechanical systems (SMS) - from the classical to the macroscopic quantum regime

Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2024

September 17–19, 2024
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany

Scientific Committee:
Cindy Regal / University of Colorado Boulder
David B. Haviland / KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Daniel Platz / TU Wien

Stay tuned #BeilsteinSMS2024


cindy david daniel version2

Topics 2024


Mechanical systems have been a cornerstone in measurement science throughout history, and progress in measurement technology has been tightly connected with our ability to assemble, control, and understand mechanical systems. This development continues today with advancement in micro- and nanofabrication led to an explosion of novel micro- and even macro-mechanical sensing systems. These systems span the full continuum from basic science applications like atomic force microscopy or mass spectrometry to industrial products like inertial sensors or microphones. In recent years, breakthroughs in opto- and electromechanics demonstrated that mechanical systems can reach the quantum regime. Such mechanical quantum systems not only allow for fundamental tests of quantum mechanics and gravity, but also provide an avenue towards unprecedented sensitivity in established sensing applications. Following this path requires understanding of both quantum measurement and classical sensing. This symposium will bring together scientists working in both the classical and quantum regimes to discuss new ideas and explore connections between different branches of mechanical sensing.


The symposium will cover, but is not limited to the following themes:

/ Electro-mechanical sensing

/ Opto-mechanical sensing

/ Applications (AFM, gravitational sensing, superfluid helium etc.)

/ Measurement techniques and theory

/ Classical to quantum, what can be gained?


Confirmed Speakers


Vaishali Adya / KTH Stockholm, Sweden

Natalia Ares / University of Oxford, UK

Ania Bleszynski-Jayich / UC Santa Barbara, USA

Andreas Deutschmann-Olek / TU Wien, Austria

Alexander Eichler / ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Nils Johan Engelsen / Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

David Haviland / KTH Stockholm, Sweden


Thomas LeBrun / NIST, Gaithersburg, USA

Michael Kraft / KU Leuven, Belgium

Mohammad Mirhosseini / Caltech, Pasadena, USA

Florian Marquardt / Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Erlangen, Germany

Laure Mercier de Lépinay / Aalto University, Finland

Daniel Platz / TU Wien, Austria

Peter T. Rakich / Yale University, USA


Cindy Regal / University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Silvan Schmid / TU Wien, Austria

Gary Steele / TU Delft, Netherlands

Peter Steeneken / TU Delft, Netherlands

Eva Weig / TU Munich, Germnay

Dana Weinstein / Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA

Hiroshi Yamaguchi / NTT Basic Research Laboratories, Japan