Stereoselective Alkene Functionalizations 

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2020

April 21–23, 2020
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany


Scientific Program:

Thomas Wirth / Cardiff University, United Kingdom


Alkene functionalization has been appreciated by chemists for a long time for the efficient construction of complex molecules. This symposium will highlight current advances with a focus on stereoselective reactions leading to the construction of novel stereocenters. Stoichiometric and catalytic protocols will be discussed while substrate- as well as reagent-controlled mechanisms can operate.


The symposium will cover the whole range of synthetic methodology from mechanistic considerations on alkene recognition, efficient formation of synthetic building blocks and application of the methodology towards target synthesis of natural products and pharmaceuticals. The major players will provide cutting edge overviews of their respective scientific fields.


The symposium will take place in the Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, a hunting lodge which was built in 1764, on top of the Rheingau heights of Rüdesheim near Frankfurt, Germany. The number of participants is limited to 60 including 20 invited speakers and the program will be designed specifically to allow sufficient time for discussions and a stimulating exchange of thoughts and ideas. This symposium also provides young scientists the opportunity to present their latest research results with a poster.

Aspects covered by this conference

  • Lewis acid / Lewis base catalysis
  • Halofunctionalizations
  • Chalcogenofunctionalizations
  • Organometallic synthesis
  • Metal-free reactions
  • Enzymatic alkene functionalizations
  • Radical reactions
  • Process development

Confirmed Speakers


John Bower / University of Bristol, UK

Alexander Breder / University of Regensburg

Erick M. Carreira / ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Nicolai Cramer / École Polytechnique Fédérale Lausanne, Switzerland

Scott E. Denmark / University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA

Harald Gröger / University of Bielefeld

Tanja Gulder / Technical University of Munich


 Ulrich Hennecke / Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

Jeffrey N. Johnston / Vanderbilt University, Nashville, USA

Mark Lautens / University of Toronto, Canada

Keiji Maruoka / Kyoto University, Japan

Géraldine Masson / Institut de Chimie des Substances Naturelles, Gif-sur-Yvette, France

Kilian Muñiz / ICIQ, Tarragona, Spain

Martin Oestreich / Technical University Berlin


Phillipe Renaud / University of Bern, Switzerland

Corinna Schindler / University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

Stephen P. Thomas / University of Edinburgh, UK

Ying Yeung Yeung / Chinese University of Hong Kong

Thomas Wirth / Cardiff University, United Kingdom