Earth-Abundant 3d Metal Catalysis

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2020

July 22 – 24, 2020

Favorite Parkhotel, Mainz, Germany


Scientific Program:

Lutz Ackermann / University of Göttingen, Germany

This symposium is cancelled!


Due to health concerns related to the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19) disease, we have decided to cancel the Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium due to take place July 22-24, 2020 in Mainz.


It is with deep regret that we took this decision, but out of concern for the health and well-being of all participants, staff and local community, and bearing in mind the international nature of the meeting with potential difficulty of travel, we saw no reasonable alternative.

Metal catalysis has so far been largely dominated by the use of precious and toxic 5d and 4d transition metals, such as palladium, iridium and rhodium. In sharp contrast, recent years have witnessed the emergence of increasingly powerful catalysts based on less toxic, earth-abundant base metals. Thus, particularly the use of sustainable 3d transition metals has proven instrumental for the development of versatile tools for molecular organic syntheses, with transformative applications to inter alia crop protection, material sciences, medicinal chemistry and pharmaceutical industries.

The symposium will cover the entire range of 3d metal catalysis, including strong bond activation, photoredox-catalysis, metallaelectro-catalysis, late-stage modification and material sciences among others. Internationally leading scientists will provide cutting edge presentations of their latest scientific findings.

Aspects covered by this conference

/ Manganese catalysis

/ Copper catalysis

/ Nickel catalysis

/ Iron catalysis

/ Cobalt catalysis

/ Electrochemical transformations

/ Photoredox-catalysis

/ C–H activation

/ C–O activation

/ Late-stage diversification

/ Material sciences

Confirmed Speakers


Lutz Ackermann / University of Göttingen, Germany

Valentine P. Ananikov / Zelinsky Institute of Organic Chemistry, Russia

Robin Bedford / University of Bristol, United Kingdom

Olafs Daugulis / University of Houston, USA

Bas de Bruin / University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Gregory C. Fu / Caltech, USA

Laurence Grimaud / ENS Paris, France


Axel Jacobi von Wangelin / University of Hamburg, Germany

Ning Jiao / Peking University, China

Yoshiaki Nakao / Kyoto University, Japan

Michael Neidig / University of Rochester, USA

Bernd J. Plietker / University of Stuttgart, Germany

Xavi Ribas / University of Girona, Spain

Marc Robert / University of Paris, France

Jana Roithova / Radboud University, The Netherlands


Beatriz Royo / ITQB NOVA

Magnus Rueping / KAUST, Saudi Arabia

Shannon S. Stahl / University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Marc Taillefer / CNRS/ENSCM, France

Congyang Wang / Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Hai-Chao Xu / Xiamen University, China

Naohiko Yoshikai / Nanyang Technological University, Singapore