Functional Micro- and Nanostructured Surfaces: from Biology to Biomimetics

Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2023

May 9 – 11, 2023

Dom Hotel, Limburg, Germany

Scientific Organizer:

Stanislav N. Gorb / Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Follow us on Twitter: #BeilsteinNanosurfaces2023


Topics 2023

The scope of this conference is to provide an interdisciplinary platform for discussions of novel developments and trends in the field of biological and bio-inspired surfaces. Topics will encompass functional mechanisms as well as the characterization of biological surfaces with different functionalities: adhesion, friction, wear-resistance, wettability, photonics, etc. Based on this knowledge, a further key topic will be the consideration of structural principles in biological systems as potential models for the generation of novel technical surfaces and their implementations into engineering systems.


The following aspects will be covered at the symposium:

/ biological surfaces and physical principles of their functioning

/ technical bio-inspired micro- and nanosctructured surfaces

/ tribological surfaces: adhesion, friction, wear-resistance

/ wettability and self-cleaning

/ photonical surface



Guillermo Amador / Wageningen University and Research, Netherlands

Ming Bai / Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Wilhelm Barthlott / Nees Institute for Biodiversity of Plants, Germany

Mikhail Chamonine / Regensburg University of Applied Sciences, Germany

Zhendong Dai / Nanjing University Aeronautics & Astronautics, China

Stanislav N. Gorb / University of Kiel, Germany

Atsushi Hozumi / AIST Chubu, Japan

Rhainer Guillermo-Ferreira / Federal University of Triangulo Mineiro, Brazil




Lars Heepe / Gottlieb Binder GmbH, Germany

Karin Jacobs / Saarland University, Germany

Poramate Manoonpong / University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Florian Müller-Plathe / Technical University of Darmstadt, Germany

Gábor Piszter / Center for Energy Research, Hungary

Manuela Rebora / University of Perugia, Italy

Dan Sameoto / University of Alberta, Canada

Thomas Schimmel / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany




Stephen Schrettl / Technical University of Munich, Germany

Alyssa Stark / Villanova University, USA

Anne Staubitz / University of Bremen, Germany

Hans-Henning Stutz / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Tobias Weidner / Aarhus University, Denmark

Qibin Zhao / Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Cordt Zollfrank / Technical University of Munich, Germany

Download (45 KB)