Nanocrystal Surfaces and Defects

Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2023

October 17 – 19, 2023

Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany


Scientific Committee:

Shelley A. Claridge / Purdue University

Liberato Manna / Italian Institute of Technology


Follow us on X (formerly Twitter): #BeilsteinNanocrystals2023

Topics 2023

This symposium provides an interdisciplinary platform for discussing new developments in the understanding of the roles that nanocrystal surface chemistry and defects play in morphology and function. Topics will encompass development of new synthetic routes that control the surface chemistries and defect structures of nanocrystals, either directly or through exchange processes. Experimental and theoretical tools that illuminate surface and defect structures will be discussed, as well as applications of surface and defect chemistry in a broad range of applications including the design of surface cataytic sites, and in energy conversion applications including solar cells.


The following aspects will be covered at the symposium:

/ surface chemistry and defects in perovskites

/ doping and surface states

/ characterization including electron microscopy of defects

/ modeling of nanocrystal surfaces

/ applications in catalysis and energy conversion


Confirmed Speakers


Uri Banin / The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Sergio Brovelli / University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy

Shelley Claridge / Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA

Zeger Hens / Ghent University, Belgium

Ivan Infante / Basque Center on Materials, Bilbao, Spain

Maksym Kovalenko / ETH Zürich, Switzerland


Liberato Manna / Italian Institute of Technology, Genoa, Italy

Delia Milliron / The University of Texas at Austin, USA

Angshuman Nag / Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune, India

Jonathan S. Owen / Columbia University in the City of New York, USA

Francisco Palazon / Technical University of Cartagena, Spain

Lakshminarayana Polavarapu / University of Vigo, Spain


Narayan Pradhan / Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Kolkata, India

Loredana Protesescu / University of Groningen, Netherlands

Richard D. Robinson / Cornell University, Ithaca, USA

Jonathan De Roo / University of Basel, Switzerland

Nadine Schrenker / University of Antwerp, Belgium

Ming Lee Tang / The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA