New Directions for Nanoporous Materials

Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2019

November 12–14, 2019

Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany



Scientific organizers:


Sir Fraser Stoddart

Northwestern University, USA


Cafer T. Yavuz

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Republic of Korea


See what's reported on Twitter: #BeilsteinNanoporous.


→ Download: Abstact book of the Beilstein Nanoporous Symposium

Nanoporous materials are all around us; in water filters, car exhausts, medical implants, food packaging, and have many applications in chemical industry. Capturing greenhouse gases and the development of materials like Metal Organic Frameworks (MOFs) reignited research in nanoporous materials, leading to the question of where will the field head for next?

50 participants in total joined to hear cutting-edge research, thought-provoking predictions and stimulating discussions on nanoporous materials, facilitated by 21 invited speakers covering the whole spectrum of the nanoporous materials family.

Conference Photo Nanoporous Symposium 2019_2



(Start the gallery by clicking on one photo)

We would like to congratulate Dr. Hana Bunzen (University of Augsburg) and Dr. Dana Medina (LMU Munich) on winning the Beilstein Young Investigator Award based on their excellent publications in the thematic issue "New directions for nanoporous materials" in the Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology.

The awardees were presented a certificate signed by 2016 Chemistry Nobel Prize Laureate Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and were invited to present their work at the Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium - New directions for nanoporous materials in Rüdesheim, Germany on November 12th, 2019.

Hana Bunzen, et al. "Long-term entrapment and temperature-controlled-release of SF6 gas in metal–organic frameworks (MOFs)" Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. 2019, 10, 1851–1859. doi:10.3762/bjnano.10.180

Dana Medina, et al. "Nanostructured and oriented metal–organic framework films enabling extreme surface wetting properties" Beilstein J. Nanotechnol. 2019, 10, 1994–2003. doi:10.3762/bjnano.10.196




Thomas Bein / LMU, Germany

Susan A. Bourne / University of Cape Town, South Africa

Ali Coskun / University of Fribourg, Switzerland

Tina Düren / University of Bath, United Kingdom

Mohamed Eddaoudi / KAUST, Saudi Arabia

Makoto Fujita / University of Tokyo, Japan

Susumu Kitagawa / Kyoto University, Japan


Bettina V. Lotsch / MPI for Solid State Research, Germany

Aurelio Mateo-Alonso / POLYMAT, Spain

Neil B. McKeown / University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Svetlana Mintova / University of Caen Normandy, France

Unni Olsbye / University of Oslo, Norway

Camille Petit / Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Jörg J. Schneider / TU Darmstadt, Germany


Sir Fraser Stoddart / Northwestern University, USA

Arne Thomas / TU Berlin, Germany

Magda Titirici / Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Krista S. Walton / Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Qiang Xu / AIST, Japan

Cafer T. Yavuz / KAIST, Korea

Xiaodong Zou / Stockholm University, Sweden