Defect-mediated engineering of nanomaterials for energy and quantum applications


Beilstein Nanotechnology Symposium 2025

May 13–15, 2025
Hotel Jagdschloss Niederwald, Rüdesheim, Germany

Scientific Committee:
Carla Bittencourt / University of Mons
Arkady Krasheninnikov / Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf

Stay tuned #BeilsteinNanomaterials2025

krasheninnikov bittencour

Topics 2025

Defects, which are ubiquitous in crystalline solids at finite temperatures due to the second law of thermodynamics, are also present in two-dimensional (2D) systems, an important class of materials which have recently received enormous amount of attention. Moreover, many 2D materials are synthetic, so that defect concentration in them can be well above the equilibrium value. 2D materials consist of essentially surface only, so that defects can easily be formed due to the interaction with the environment, e.g., because of oxidation. The imperfections have a strong influence on the electronic, optical, thermal, and mechanical properties of 2D materials, normally deteriorating their characteristics, but can also be beneficial, e.g., in the context of doping or single-photon quantum emitters. The reduced dimensionality of 2D materials strongly enhances the role of defects (detrimental or beneficial), and many concepts of the physics of defects in bulk systems are not applicable for 2D materials or requirem substantial modifications.

This symposium will bring together scientists focused on the physics of defects in 2D materials to discuss recent progress and challenges in the field, including "state of the art" in theory and characterization techniques.

The symposium will cover, but is not limited to the following themes:

/ Defects in 2D materials for quantum technologies

/ Characterization of defects in 2D materials

/ Doping of 2D materials

/ First-principles modeling of native defects and impurities in 2D materials

/ Production of defects in 2D materials under ion-irradiation

/ Electron-beam-mediated engineering of 2D materials through controllable introduction of defects

grant website

Conference grant

  Apply until February 21, 2025 for a conference grant and win:

  • a poster presentation slot and 5 min flash talk
  • five minute flash talk
  • free registration for the symposium
  • conference package which covers lunches, dinners and coffee breaks

Click here for more information!

Confirmed Speakers (partial list)


Harriet Åhlgren / University of Helsinki, Finland

Matthias Batzill / University of South Florida, USA

Marija Drndić / University of Pennsylvania, USA

Ute Kaiser / University of Ulm, Germany


Hannu-Pekka Komsa / University of Oulu, Finland

Steven G. Louie / UC Berkeley, USA

Thomas Michely / University of Cologne, Germany

Joshua A. Robinson / Pennsylvania State University, USA


Marika Schleberger / University Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Kazu Suenaga / Osaka University, Japan

Kristian Thygesen / Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Richard Wilhelm / TU Wien, Austria