Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2016

5 – 7 October 2016
Yachthotel Chiemsee, Prien (Chiemsee), Germany


Scientific Program:
Hans-Achim Wagenknecht / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany



The symposium  has been inspired by the Thematic Series “Nucleic Acid Chemistry” in the Open Access Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, edited by Hans-Achim Wagenknecht.

Nucleic acid chemistry represents an important subdiscipline of organic chemistry, since natural and artificial functionalities as well as probes, markers or other biologically active molecules can be introduced synthetically into DNA and RNA, by preparing either the corresponding artificial DNA building blocks or by so-called postsynthetic methodologies. Although nucleic acid chemistry seems to be already a mature research field, actual questions that are raised by research in biology and chemical biology give enough reasons to synthesize new nucleic acid probes and thereby further develop the chemistry. Moreover, beside its biological functionality, DNA and RNA are considered as an increasingly important architecture and scaffold for two- and three-dimensional objects, networks and materials for nanosciences.

Aspects covered by this conference

  • New nucleic acid architectures and base pairs
  • Nucleic acid analogs and lipids
  • Light-driven and fluorescent functionalities
  • New nucleic acid building blocks
  • RNA and catalytically active nucleic acids


Hiroyuki Asanuma / Nagoya University, Japan
Tom Brown / University of Oxford, UK
Thomas Carell / LMU Munich, Germany
Robert Häner / University of Bern, Switzerland
Claudia Höbartner / University of Göttingen, Germany
Michal Hocek / Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic
Heiko Ihmels / University of Siegen, Germany

Nathan Luedtke / University of Zurich, Switzerland
Annemieke Madder / Ghent University, Belgium
Ronald Micura / University of Innsbruck, Austria
Jens Müller / University of Münster, Germany
Sabine Müller / University of Greifswald, Germany
Andrea Rentmeister / University of Münster, Germany
Clemens Richert / University of Stuttgart, Germany

Helmut Rosemeyer / University of Osnabrück, Germany
Oliver Seitz / Humboldt University Berlin, Germany
Snorri Sigurdsson / University of Iceland, Reykjavik, Iceland
Tirayut Vilaivan / Chulalongkorn University, Bangkok, Thailand
Hans-Achim Wagenknecht / Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Elmar Weinhold / RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Jesper Wengel / University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark