Advancing chemical synthesis through automation, processes and thinking

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2017

26 – 28 September 2017
avendi Hotel am Griebnitzsee, Potsdam, Germany


Scientific Program:

Ian Baxendale / Department of Chemistry, University of Durham, United Kingdom  

Andreas Kirschning / Institute of Organic Chemistry, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany



The symposium  has been inspired by the Thematic Series “Flow Chemistry I, II and III“ edited by Andreas Kirschning and "Automated chemical synthesis" edited by Ian Baxendale, Marcus Baumann and Richard Bourne and published in the Open Access Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry.

The themes of Flow Chemistry and Automated Chemical Synthesis are rapidly evolving areas influenced by many interwoven subjects including robotics, continuous processing technologies, new and improved reaction monitoring devices and aspects of software design & control. They further draws on knowledge from other core disciplines such as mathematics, biology and the computational sciences as well as bridging chemical synthesis and reaction engineering. Our vision for this conference is to bring the leading minds from a diverse cross section of regular contributors to these scientific themes to highlight the most interesting research and discuss a vision of the future.


The symposium hotel is located in Potsdam near Berlin, directly on the banks of the Griebnitzsee. The number of participants is limited to around 50 including 20 invited speakers and the program is designed specifically to allow sufficient time for discussions and a stimulating exchange of thoughts and ideas.

Confirmed Speakers


Detlev Belder / Leipzig University, Germany

Kevin Booker-Milburn / University of Bristol, UK

Richard Bourne / University of Leeds, UK

Lee Cronin / University of Glasgow, UK

Stevan Djuric / AbbVie, North Chicago, USA

Kerry Gilmore / Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam, Germany

Antimo Gioiello / University of Perugia, Italy


Volker Hessel / Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Klavs Jensen / Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA

Tanja Junkers / Hasselt University, Belgium

Shu Kobayashi / University of Tokyo, Japan

Alexei Lapkin / University of Cambridge, UK

Andreas Liese / Hamburg University of Technology, Germany


Anita Maguire / University College Cork, Ireland

Timothy Noel / Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Miquel A. Pericàs / Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia, Tarragona, Spain

Martina Pohl / Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany

Andrew Rutter / GSK, Stevenage, UK

Jun-ichi Yoshida / Kyoto University, Japan

Polona Žnidaršič Plazl / University of Ljubljana, Slovenia