Photoredox Catalysis for Novel Organic Reactions

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2018

24 – 26 April, 2018
avendi Hotel am Griebnitzsee, Potsdam, Germany


Scientific Program:

Markus Antonietti and Peter Seeberger / Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces

Organic photocatalysis is certainly one of the synthesis tools which have the potential to change the face of organic chemistry. Recent literature describes that more and more “novel” simple reactions previously thought to be kinetically impossible are enabled. This also includes so-called uphill reactions where endothermicity is compensated by photon energy. This symposium intends to catch this trend in a systematic way. The diverse communities who are working on new organic reactions, synthesizing new photocatalysts or designing devices and processes to optimize the chemical engineering of photocatalysis are intended to meet and exchange the newest information out of their research lab. The overall aim is to harvest the currently accessible full potential of organic photocatalysis by exchanging thoughts and concepts.


The symposium hotel is located in Potsdam near Berlin, directly on the banks of the Griebnitzsee. The number of participants is limited including 20 invited speakers and the program is designed specifically to allow sufficient time for discussions and a stimulating exchange of thoughts and ideas.

Confirmed Speakers


Markus Antonietti / Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany

Marcella Bonchio / University of Padova, Italy

Kevin Booker-Milburn / University of Bristol, UK

Shawn Collins / Université de Montréal, Canada

Matthias Drieß / Technical University of Berlin, Germany

Kerry Gilmore / Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany

Axel Griesbeck / University of Cologne, Germany

Timothy Jamison / Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA


Burkhard König / University Regensburg, Germany

Kazuhiko Maeda / Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Gary Molander / University of Pennsylvania, USA

David Nicewicz / University of North Carolina, USA

Timothy Noël / Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Magnus Rueping / RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Aleksandr Savateev / Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany

Peter Seeberger / Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany



Corey Stephenson / University of Michigan, USA

Christian Stevens / Ghent University, Belgium

Ajayan Vinu / University of Queensland, Australia

Elizabeth von Hauff / Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Xinchen Wang / Fuzhou University, China

Tehshik Yoon / University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Kirsten Zeitler / Leipzig University, Germany

More Information