Tomorrow's Catalysis
for Research and Industry

Beilstein Organic Chemistry Symposium 2017

24 – 26 October 2017
avendi Hotel am Griebnitzsee, Potsdam, Germany


Scientific Program:
Karol Grela / Institute of Organic Chemistry, Polish Academy of Sciences,
and University of Warsaw, Poland

Anna Kajetanowicz / University of Warsaw, Poland



The symposium  has been inspired by the Thematic Series “Progress in metathesis chemistry II” in the Open Access Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry, edited by Karol Grela.

Catalysis represents an important discipline of chemistry, since it offers a number of widely recognized benefits — catalysed reactions can be mediated under mild conditions, proceeding with high conversion and selectivity. This allows even complicated products to be obtained in high yield without by-products and with little waste. Thus, properly optimised catalysed reactions can fulfil the requirements for “green” chemical production. New goals for catalysis are constantly being identified, including the sustainable production of valuable chemicals from renewable sources. Immobilisation of catalysts is another important aspect, as the supported catalysts can not only be more easily separated from the desired product but also reused several times, thus reducing the cost of the chemical process. Immobilised catalysts can also offer some unexpected advantages, such as increased selectivity and stability. The importance of these developments is now widely appreciated and more and more exciting results are to be expected from collaboration between academic and industrial scientists.


The symposium hotel is located in Potsdam near Berlin, directly on the banks of the Griebnitzsee. The setting and the limited number of 50 participants including 20 invited speakers provide a convivial atmosphere for the ready exchange of thoughts and ideas.

Confirmed Speakers


Lutz Ackermann / University of Göttingen, Germany

Stephen Bell / Almac Sciences, UK

David Cole-Hamilton / University of St. Andrews, UK

Johannes de Vries / Leibniz Institute for Catalysis, Rostock, Germany

Jean-Luc Dubois / Arkema France

Vittorio Farina / Janssen Pharmaceutica, Belgium

Yi Hsiao / Bristol-Myers Squibb, USA


C. Oliver Kappe / University of Graz, Austria

Laurent Lefort / Innosyn, The Netherlands

Aiwen Lei / Wuhan University, China

David Leitch / GlaxoSmithKline, USA

John Limanto / Merck Research Laboratories, USA

Paolo Melchiorre / Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia, Tarragona, Spain

Steven Mennen / Amgen, USA


David Milstein / Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

Michael Organ / University of Ottawa, Canada

Chris Senanayake / Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, USA

Krzysztof Skowerski / Apeiron Synthesis, Poland

Marc Taillefer / CNRS/ENSCM, Montpellier, France

Shuli You / Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry, China