Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology

The Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology is a new international, peer-reviewed Open Access journal. Editor-in-Chief is Professor Thomas Schimmel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany.

The Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology publishes original articles on all aspects of nanoscience and nanotechnology. It provides a broad coverage of both fundamental and applied research, including aspects of chemistry, physics and biology as well as materials science and engineering. The scope of the journal includes experimental and theoretical aspects, and nanotechnology applications.


Thematic Series


Research topics of special interest are highlighted as regular Thematic Series:

Advances in nanomaterials

Editors: Professor Herbert Gleiter and Professor Thomas Schimmel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Energy-related nanomaterials

Editors: Professor Paul Ziemann, Universität Ulm, and Professor Alexei R. Khokhlov, Moscow State University

High-resolution electrical and chemical characterization of nm-scale organic and inorganic devices

Editors: Prof. Ernst Meyer, Universität Basel, and Dr. Pierre Eyben, IMEC, Leuven

Advanced atomic force microscopy techniques

Editors: Dr. Thilo Glatzel, University Basel, and Professor Udo D. Schwarz, Yale University

Physics, chemistry and biology of functional nanostructures

Editors: Professor Paul Ziemann, University Ulm, and Professor Thomas Schimmel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Radiation-induced nanostructures: Formation processes and applications

Editor: Professor Michael Huth, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main

Noncontact atomic force microscopy

Edited by Professor Udo D. Schwarz, Yale University

Self-assembly at solid surfaces

Edited by Dr. Sidney Cohen and Professor Jacob Sagiv, The Weizmann Institute of Science

Micro- and mesoporous solids: From science to application

Edited by Professor Jörg Schneider, Universität Darmstadt, Germany

Transport through molecular junctions

Edited by Prof. Jan M. van Ruitenbeek, Universiteit Leiden, The Netherlands

Nanophotonics, nano-optics and nanospectroscopy

Edited by Prof. Alfred Meixner, Universität Tübingen, Germany

Organic-inorganic nanosystems

Edited by Prof. Paul Ziemann, Universität Ulm, Germany

Biomimetic materials

Edited by Prof. Wilhelm Barthlott, Universität Bonn, Germany, and Kerstin Koch, Hochschule Rhein-Waal, Germany

Preparation, properties and applications of magnetic nanoparticles

Edited by Dr. Ulf Wiedwald and Prof. Paul Ziemann, Universität Ulm, Germany

Scanning probe microscopy and related methods

Edited by Prof. Ernst Meyer, Universität Basel, Switzerland


Editorial and Advisory Board


The Editorial Board supporting Thomas Schimmel consist of the following well-known scientists, all of whom are responsible for the manuscripts of their particular subject area:

Prof. Wilhelm Barthlott
Nees-Institute for Biodiversity of Plants, Universität Bonn

Prof. Bharat Bhushan
Nanoprobe Laboratory for Bio- & Nanotechnology and Biomimetics, The Ohio State University

Dr. Sidney R. Cohen
Faculty of Chemistry, Weizmann Institute of Science

Prof. Thomas Davis
Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design, The University of New South Wales

Dr. Jane Frommer
IBM Almaden Research Center

Prof. Armin Gölzhäuser
Department of Physics, Universität Bielefeld

Prof. Stanislav N. Gorb
Zoological Institute, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel

Prof. Chennupati Jagadish
Department of Electronic Materials Engineering, Research School of Physics and Engineering, The Australian National University

Prof. Alexei R. Khokhlov
Physics Department, Moscow State University

Prof. Kerstin Koch
Biology und Nanobiotechnology, Hochschule Rhein-Waal

Prof. Paul Leiderer
Department of Physics, Universität Konstanz

Prof. Alfred Meixner
Institute of Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, Universität Tübingen

Prof. Ernst Meyer
Institute of Physics, Universität Basel

Prof. Nunzio Motta
Faculty of Built Environment and Engineering, School of Engineering Systems, University of Queensland

Prof. Daniel J. Müller
Department of Biosystems Science and Engineering, ETH Zürich

Prof. Ron Naaman
Chemical Physics Department, Weizmann Institute of Science

Prof. Jan van Ruitenbeek
Leiden Institute of Physics, Universiteit Leiden

Prof. Jacob Sagiv
Department of Materials and Interfaces, Weizmann Institute of Science

Prof. Jörg Schneider
Eduard Zintl Institute for Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, Technische Universität Darmstadt

Prof. Dr. Udo D. Schwarz
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, Yale University

Prof. Anatolie Sidorenko
Institute of Applied Physics, Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Moldova

Prof. Claudia Steinem
Institute of Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Prof. Rong Xu
School of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering, Nanyang Technological University

Prof. Paul Ziemann
Institute of Solid State Physics, Universität Ulm



Advisory Board


Prof. Christoph Gerber
Universität Basel

Prof. Herbert Gleiter
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Prof. Wolfgang Heckl
Director General of the Deutsches Museum

Prof. Sir Harold Kroto
University of Florida

Prof. Jean-Marie Lehn
Université Strasbourg

Prof. Sir Fraser Stoddart
Northwestern University